top of page

Gym Fails: Overcoming Setbacks



I experienced a gym 'fail' for the first time in a very long time this week. Over the years, I have done very well at adapting exercises and I have generally known what I am unable to do in the gym.


I typically stick to using dumbbells and kettlebells for various squat activities, but I have been trying to go outside my comfort zone in the gym and try some new equipment that I have otherwise been too afraid to use.


Enter the smith machine...the one thing I have been wanting to try out to add to my glute/hamstring days. The gym was a lot less busy than usual this day, so I decided it was finally my chance to give it a go.






Well, it was a no go. Unfortunately, my current range of motion in the shoulder of my Erb's arm would not allow me to properly hold the bar in the correct position and maintain proper form. As the kids say these days, a major L!!! I had a feeling this might happen, but I at least wanted to try.


A few people were close by and I am pretty sure they noticed me struggling with the bar. My inexperience with the machine caused it to make a clanking sound unintentionally. This incident triggered feelings of self-consciousness, frustration, and a slight sense of embarrassment about my disability, which I hadn't experienced in a long time. Fortunately, this feeling didn't last long.


Reflecting on my abilities and accepting the possibility of setbacks, I am grateful for the numerous activities I can still engage in at the gym. I am optimistic that restarting physical therapy will aid in restoring my range of motion, and I look forward to the potential reunion with the smith machine.


While setbacks are inevitable, how we respond to them defines our journey. Turning gym fails into fitness wins is not just about physical strength; it's about mental resilience and unwavering determination. Each setback is an opportunity to learn, grow, and come back stronger than before. So, the next time you stumble, remember that success isn't just about the destination but the journey of overcoming every obstacle on the way.


Celebrate Small Wins : Acknowledge and celebrate your achievements, no matter how minor they may seem.

Progress is progress, no matter how small.


As you lace up your sneakers and step into the gym, remember that setbacks are not roadblocks.

Comments


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page